28th Liberty Forum: Roads to Freedom 

Event Schedule

13 and 14 April, 2015


April 13 – Monday:

 5 PM – Welcome Panel:

Education and Meritocracy

Fernando Schüler, Professor at Insper and Curator of Fronteiras do Pensamento Project

Rodrigo Galindo, CEO at Kroton Educacional

Milton Sousa, Director of the Estoril Conferences and Director of the MBA program of RSM – Rotterdam School of Management – Eramus University

Moderator: Mauro Zaffari, Director of Liberty Forum and Institutional Relations at IEE.


6.30 PM – Official opening of the 28º Edition of the Liberty Forum

-  Libertas Award: Walter Lídio Nunes, President of Celulose Riograndense 

- Freedom of the Press Award: William Waack, Journalist


7.30 PM - Panel:

Paths of Brazil

Nilson Teixeira, Chief economist at Credit Suisse

Ronaldo Caiado, Senator for Democratas Party

Moderator: Frederico Hilzendeger, President of IEE


April 1 – Tuesday:

 9 AM - Panel:

Free Market

Rodrigo Constantino, President of the Liberal Institute, columnist at Veja Magazine and of O Globo newspaper

Donald Boudreaux, Economist, writer and professor 

Diogo Costa, Master in political science, Founder of Instituto Ordem Livre (Free Order Institute) and “Capitalism for the poor” blog owner

Moderator: Daniel Flores, Director of Finances at IEE


10.30 AM - Panel: 


 - Kylee Majkowski, Co founder and CEO of Tomorrow’s Lemonade Stand

Tallis Gomes, Founder and Co-CEO at Easy Taxi

Lorrana Scarpioni, Founder of Bliive

Moderator: Rodrigo Tellechea, Director of Formation at IEE


12 PM- Lunch break

 2 PM - Panel: 


Humberto Ávila, Lawyer, professor and scholar on tax and constitutional law 

Demétrio Magnoli, Journalist, sociologist and geographer. Columnist at O Estado de São Paulo and O Globo newspapers and pundit of Globo News channel

Jorge Vasconcellos e Sá, Professor at University of Lisboa and business manager

Moderator: Ricardo Heller, Director of Events at IEE


3.30 PM – Keynote Speaker:

David Beasley, Former governor of South Carolina 


4 PM - Panel:

Latin America

Plinio Apuleyo Mendoza, Political scientist, writer and journalist. Former ambassador and diplomat

Alejandro Chafuen, President of Atlas Network

Pedro Schwartz, Economist, political scientist, consultant and President of Mont Pelerin Society

Moderator: Fernando Ulrich, Vice President of IEE


5.30 PM – Keynote Speaker

Glória Alvarez, Political scientist, director of Guatemala’s Movimento Cívico Nacional 


06 PM- Ending panel:

Freedom of Speech

Marcel van Hattem, State congressperson, political scientist and journalist

Catalina Botero, Lawyer specialized in human rights and international Law

Eduardo “Peninha” Bueno, Writer, journalist, editor e translator

- Kim Kataguiri, President of Movimento Brasil Livre

Moderator: Hélio Beltrão, President of Instituto Mises Brasil


Cultural Showing

Digest of the book “The Road to Serfdom” by Friedrich Hayek, adapted by Lys Lenhart from the original by Thobias Zamboni, both associates at IEE. Download here.